The First Day of School

by thequietbrunette

“Want me to walk you in?” my Mom asks me when she drops me off at college.

“Uhhhhh,” I hesitate as I don’t want to hurt her feelings but at the same time I am twenty five and can do this. “No, that’s okay.  I have a map…”  I shut the car door and walk away with my polka dot backpack on my back.

It was like I was going to kindergarten, where my Mom waited in line with me to head inside.  I can remember the picture so clearly, my friend Morgan was behind me and I think a boy named Erin in front of me. 

We laughed about it later when she picked me up with Reese cups as a treat.

 

As for the actual school part?  My social anxiety was high, but I felt smart walking on campus with a backpack and having a purpose to be there.

When I walked into the class it was full and I could feel all eyes on me, so I quickly took a spot in the middle and tried to kill the redness in my face.

 

I never went to an information session so it was all new to me, but I did my research before registering.  Luckily it still sounds interesting to me, I just think it’s going to be a lot of a work and judging by my past study habits, I’m going to need to step up my game.

 

I guess it’s time to gulp down this last cup of coffee and get dressed for work.

Have a happy hump day!

